Finding Paris by Joy Preble // John Green’s Rival Novel

Finding Paris, by Joy Preble                  Publication: April 21, 2015, by Balzer + Bray Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Romance                                                                     Pages: 272                                                             Format: Hardcover                                           Source: Purchased                                                   Rating: Screen Shot 2015-07-22 at 7.12.37 PMScreen Shot 2015-07-22 at 7.12.37 PMScreen Shot 2015-07-22 at 7.12.37 PMScreen Shot 2015-07-22 at 7.12.37 PM

A page-turning, evocative novel for fans of THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and SPEAK, about a girl who must follow a trail of mysterious clues to discover what happened to her sister.

Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love.

But Leo isn’t going anywhere yet… until Paris ditches her at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared?

When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is a not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold tightly.

Michelle’s Thoughts:

Road trip novels with beautiful covers that just make me want to scream the characters’ destination? Joy Preble truly gave us that. And by the way, in case you haven’t noticed already, I do enjoy beginning my reviews off with rhetorical questions that not everyone can answer since not everyone read the book. Hah. But seriously, back to matter that we’re currently facing, Finding Paris is my pleasure. I’m not feeling guilt in any way, so I won’t call it my guilty pleasure, but I’ll tell you that it’s one of the best books of the summer. Just get ready to adore it and find a million specks of beauty that’s pretty difficult to find anywhere else.

HarperTeen made me fall in love this book and its cover from the winter of this year. When I first spotted it, I knew that I needed it right away before I even read its summary. You may not be a believer of solemn love at first sight, but it surely does happen with and in books. This is a literature masterpiece that I’m so thankful to have read in a matter of hours.

There are points that come around that will remind you of John Green and Jay Asher’s writing, two talented men whose books I adore. Paper Towns and Thirteen Reasons Why were very similar, and they click with this, but it hadn’t bothered me because it was its own kind of style that was very interesting and cute.

“Things happen like this, I know. One minute you’re whistling along and the next, life has gone off-kilter. The trick is to shift with it, like a computer resettling after an error. I size Max Sullivan and decide that he is not Hannibal Lecter.” (39)

This involves sisterhood, first love and a theme of having a basic tough life. The title does make sense, as Leo, the main character, is trying to find her sister, Paris, who is really weird and leaves clues all over the place. One minute they’re having coffee in a Las Vegas diner, and the next Paris leaves, taking the car and all of the money that Leo had, leaving her stranded. With the help of a super hot guy who is pretty bored at this late time named Max, Leo goes out to find her sister, who may not be so lost in the world as Leo herself is.

It’s a very easy-going story. Things flow well together, the romance is the perfect touch for a teenage girl to squeal and adore, and you will seriously love Joy Preble’s writing. I honestly can say that it was worth the wait, to wait for this book to be published and released, released into the world and into my heart. Books like this don’t show up on your doorstep quite often, I must say.

“We are like one of those still life paintings. I think absurdly. Mother. Daughter. Strange boy. Glass of wine. A million unsaid things.” (55)

Even though I read this novel ages ago in the midst of summer vacation, I still remember the plot perfectly, as well as the characters. Paris, Leo and Max were adorable, and the way their stories flowed with each other’s was unique. And did I mention that the romance between Leo and Max was adorable? There’s a beach scene that’ll have you going gaga. Good luck with your feels, because you better hold on them, they’ll explode and go out of control!

Screen Shot 2015-07-22 at 7.12.52 PM

 

 

Finding Paris is a memorable, riveting yet pretty well-used novel that is found all over the place but has its own tweak and quirk to it that makes me the happiest reader alive. Brace yourself for a romance that’ll make you squirm, because you want it in your life, and squeal because Max Sullivan is just too sexy. It’s your call, but I think the sisterhood, issues and girl power that Preble uses is just calling you.

What are your thoughts of books with road trips and clues? have you ever read a book that takes place in las vegas, or a ya one that mentions casinos and gambling? xd

Screen Shot 2015-07-23 at 7.13.19 PM

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Finding Paris by Joy Preble // John Green’s Rival Novel

  1. Regina says:

    FINDING PARIS’ COVER IS GORGEOUS! I saw it at the bookstore and literally inwardly debated with myself whether I should pick it up or not… Seems like I should! Awesome review!

    Like

Thanks for visiting! You all are amazing. Want a book recommendation? You know who to ask!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s